Sports 56 WHBlog Q

June 26, 2009

Grizzlies draft recap

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , — Eli Savoie @ 4:14 pm

So my wishful thinking did not work for the Grizzlies draft last night as they were not able to make a move and drafted Hasheem Thabeet with the second pick. They then added DeMarre Carroll at #27 and Sam Young at #36.

While I have said I didn’t want them to draft Thabeet, it does not mean I think he will be a complete bust. I think he’ll be a pretty decent big man who will block shots and rebound, but will never really be a big offensive threat. What I don’t like about the pick is while it did fill a need of a shot blocker, the Grizzlies already had three centers on the roster and there is still a big hole at the power forward spot and Thabeet still doesn’t provide a low post scorer which is what the Grizzlies desperately need. I thought you could get better value out of the #2 pick by using it in a trade to add more players to improve the overall depth.

I also wasn’t a big fan of the Carroll pick only because I thought there were better options available, but at #27, you’re not expecting to get a big star so it’s tough to complain too much. I would have liked to see them take Wayne Ellington with the pick to fill the need of a long range shooter. I think Ellington could be a great shooter in the NBA. Carroll will provide some toughness and energy though and he loves to play defense and the Grizzlies can use some solid perimeter defenders.

I love the pick of Young at #36. I was shocked to see him slip that far and I’m glad the Grizzlies were able to snatch him up. Young is a tough player who plays very intelligently. He can shoot it from the outside, but has the strength to get to the basket too. In my opinion, this was the best of the Grizzlies’ picks.

Some other Grizzlies notes:
My hope of Minnesota giving up the 5th and 18th picks to move up never happened. Minnesota’s only offer for the #2 pick was the 6th pick and Craig Smith which wasn’t nearly enough.

If you heard Grizzlies owner Michael Heisley on the “Morning Rush” today he mentioned a trade they tried to make that would have cost them $20 million. I have been told by a source that the trade they wanted to make was Darko Milicic and Marko Jaric to the Clippers for Zach Randolph. Once the Clippers nixed that deal, the Grizzlies sent Darko to New York for Quentin Richardson. Darko needed to be traded somewhere because of the logjam at the center spot with Thabeet coming in. Darko would have been the third center and would not have been a happy camper sitting deep on the bench. Richardson brings some veteran leadership and some three-point shooting and he’s also in the last year of his contract so he could still be a valuable asset to move later on.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

