Sports 56 WHBlog Q

February 26, 2009

Random Thoughts, Vol. 265

Filed under: Uncategorized — Will Askew @ 11:41 am

The Super Bowl took a lot out of me, so sorry about the layoff. But I’m back, baby.

I saw a Swedish movie over the weekend called Let the Right One In. It’s about a very disturbed boy who falls in love with a vampire. The boy’s name is Oskar. As I was watching Duke and Wake Forest on Sunday night, it struck me that Oskar looks a whole lot like Kyle Singler. You be the judge.
rightone05large_love-singler-rucker

I think the resemblance is quite striking, actually. Hopefully, Kyle Singler’s life turns out a bit different from Oskar’s…I can imagine romancing a vampire is quite odd and off-putting. Although I imagine Singler already has some dealings with the undead:

mike330

The other guy in the Singler photo above is Kevin Love in high school, who is a dead ringer for my friend Paul in that picture. Very strange.

–Memphis travels to UAB tonight, and a lot of people are picking them to lose. Umm…why? It’s not like any conference team has beaten them in 3 years, so why now? I understand that if they are going to lose a game in conference this year, this would be the one, but my goodness. How can you pick anyone to beat Memphis in conference until someone actually does it? Memphis 76, UAB 72

–There are some women in the world that I find really attractive and don’t really know why. It’s not like these women are ugly or anything like that at all…it’s just that I seem to find them better looking than most people do. A couple of examples…Meg White from The White Stripes.

meg-white

I’m sure it has something to do with the fact that a)her band effing rocks and is my favorite in the world at the moment and b) the middle of the picture (ahem), but I have a massive crush on this girl. Another example–Lily Allen.

lilly_allen

For some reason, I also am taken with pink hair and tattoos. I can’t explain it, and if you’ve ever seen me, you know that I am the preppiest person ever. I don’t get it. But there you go.

–I am quite baffled by this whole Andre Smith saga. In case you missed it, Andre Smith basically just walked out of the combine this past weekend in Indianapolis, saying that he felt out of shape and wanting to wait until pro day March 11th to show scouts what he could do. Granted, since the beginning of the calendar year, you haven’t heard too much good about Mr. Smith, but the man did dominate for three years at the top level of football in the country. He won the Outland Trophy for Pete’s sake. He handled the situation at the combine about as badly as you could handle it, but some people have him slipping out of the first round. I can’t understand that. If the man was a brick wall blocking the best defenders in the country week after week, I’m taking him in the first round. Period.

–Just in case you missed it buried deep in the bowels of the paper, the Memphis Tigers aren’t the only school in the city ranked as high as 4th in the country…Verties Sales has Southwest Tennessee Community College ranked 4th this week at 21-1. Just thought you might like to know.

–Will’s Five Movies You Probably Haven’t SeenBut Should Put on Netflix

1.  Stranger Than Fiction:  An all-star cast (Dustin Hoffman, Will Ferrell, Emma Thompson, Queen Latifah, Maggie Gylenhall, the two guys from the Sonic commercials), plus Will Ferrell actually acts!  One of the few movies you can say that about.
2.  In Bruges:  This movie made me like Colin Farrell.  That’s more difficult than you might think.
3.  Miller’s Crossing:  A Coen brothers movie that was made before they were the Coen brothers.
4.  Big Fish:  One of my favorite movies.  Ever.
5.  Evil Dead 2:  Bruce Campbell is one of my favorite actors, and he is awesome in this B-movie.  If it’s a bit low-budget for you, check out the sequel, Army of Darkness.

–Quick thought…if Scott Boras advises Manny Ramirez to turn down the Dodgers 2 year, $45 million offer, Ramirez should fire him.

–And finally, congratulations to the Memphis Grizzlies’ Marko Jaric, who last week became the coolest player on the team. Since you’re going to have a wedding in Brazil this summer, Marko, how can I get an invitation? I would imagine that would be the best. wedding. ever. if Adriana invites her friends.

1 Comment »

  1. I completely agree with you on Meg White. She’s just so ***damn pretty.

    Comment by Stan — December 4, 2009 @ 10:04 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

