Sports 56 WHBlog Q

December 19, 2008

St. Petersburg, Day 1, Blog 1

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , — Will Askew @ 11:57 am

Welcome to Day 1 of coverage from the Tradewinds Beach Resort of the magicjack St. Petersburg Bowl. We hope to bring you some audio from the 2:00 walkthrough over at Tropicana Field later on today during the Sports Bar.

Peter and I got here last night around 9:45 or so after a 12 hour drive which, all things considered, was not all that hard. We immediately looked for a place to eat dinner after settling down in our rooms. Because I’ve been here before, I recommended The Wharf, a good seafood place about 5 minutes down the beach. Because it was about 10:45 when we finally got around to going anywhere, it was closed, but luckily the bar was still open. The guy suggested the Reef, about a 2 minute drive from our resort. Because we wanted to avoid eating McDonald’s at all costs, we decided to go there…The beer was cold and I had a fried grouper sandwich, which was epically large. Two buns could have barely covered it. I recommend the grouper at the Reef. Pretty damn good.

After the mist rolled away this morning, I was treated to this view off of my 6th floor balcony:

n554292405_1263975_6491

Needless to say, I’m happy I’m here.

I have to say, the Tradewinds Resort is really, really nice. It is a huge facility with tons of stuff to do–fitness center, mini golf, multiple swimming pools, multiple bars and nightclubs…just a really nice place. The staff has been nothing but friendly and helpful ever since we got here, including working right now on securing us a phone line for the Sports Bar today. Even if you’re not coming down for the magicjack St. Petersburg Bowl, I very highly recommend this area and this resort. It really is extremely nice.

As I post this, Peter is posting a blog featuring a picture from this morning’s paper…check that out and I guess you’ll get some sense of the local view of the bowl game. I guess they’re not impressed.

Later today I’ll post regarding the walkthrough and what went on at practice…but I doubt I’ll post regarding whatever it is we do tonight. Some debauchery is likely to ensue. And I think we’ll be going to the Undertow as well. Let’s see:

Cold beer: Yes.
HDTVs: Yes.
Right on the beach: Yes.
Bartenders in bikinis: Yes.

I think we’ll be going.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

