Sports 56 WHBlog Q

November 28, 2008

Post-Thanksgiving Thoughts

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , — Will Askew @ 12:39 pm

As I sit here waiting for the Egg Bowl to kick off, I still am dumbfounded by Rick Astley Rickrolling himself yesterday during the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade yesterday, in a moment that will go down as one of the greats in Parade history:

It was absolutely awesome. And now I have newfound respect for Rick Astley, because anyone who is willing to poke fun at themselves is okay by me. Respeck, Rick Astley.

Allen Iverson skipped practice yesterday, and I don’t really have a problem with it. Much will be made of this because of his famous “Practice” rant, but the dude wanted to hang out with his family on Thanksgiving. Doesn’t bother me.

It turns out that Michigan State isn’t that great, or at least didn’t look that way last night. As I said in my last post, I didn’t really understand what the fascination was with the Spartans preseason. Anyone who saw them get annihilated in the first half by Memphis last year knows that they just don’t have many athletes. Raymar Morgan is a nice player, as is Kalin Lucas, but other than that, where is the top 10 talent? Tom Izzo is good, but not that good. North Carolina plays them in Detroit next week, and it could be ugly.

Speaking of North Carolina, I’ve never seen anything quite like Kyle McAlarney’s shooting display in the second half of the Maui Championship game. 10 threes? Bobby Frasor made the guy take fade aways from 25 feet…what else could he do? McAlarney can shoot, man. They could have lost that game by 30 if he hadn’t gone off like that.

I’m not just saying this because I was born and raised a North Carolina fan, or went to Carolina Basketball school in 1988 and saw Brad Daugherty and J.R. Reid, but North Carolina is really good this year. And by the way, my dad yelled at me last night because he didn’t feel that I adequately explain why I love North Carolina and Alabama…more on that soon. I get the “Why do you like UNC and Bama?” question more than any other outside of “How do you work with Weinberger?” Hopefully (if anyone reads this) I can clear that up.

What is it about college football that makes people feel it necessary to get us pumped up for the game by throwing on some country music videos? Whether it’s “Bob that Head” by Rascal Flatts or “We’re Comin…to your City” on College GameDay, TV feels it necessary to throw metrosexual country stars at us to get us fired up. Don’t understand it.

Great article by Jason Whitlock on Foxsports.com about how ESPN is the enemy of the truth, and cannot give unbiased commentary. That pretty much sums it up. I’m not sure there’s a better sports writer out there right now than Jason Whitlock. The late Ralph Wiley, a Memphian, was also great.

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving, and has a safe Black Friday. Come visit us at Abner’s in Southaven on Monday…we’re going to be giving away 2 tickets to the SEC Championship game.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

