Sports 56 WHBlog Q

August 12, 2008

Tuesday Ramblings

Filed under: Uncategorized — Eli Savoie @ 3:54 pm

Thoughts I’ve had while awaiting this year’s Elvis Candlelight Vigil.

This Friday is the Elvis Vigil out at Graceland and I can’t wait. This will be my third straight vigil and after going to my first a couple years ago I said that as long as I live in Memphis, I will never miss another one. It is a great event just for people watching and talking to the people who come from all over the world for this event. If you haven’t ever been, you should come out.

In honor of Elvis week here in Memphis, I thought I’d post this video which, in a way, combines two of my favorite things this time of year, Elvis and Wrigley Field.

Going into these Olympics, I didn’t think I really cared a whole lot and figured I wouldn’t watch a whole lot of the games, but I have become hooked. I found myself watching badminton and women’s sculls over the weekend for goodness sake. The Michael Phelps story is one of the best stories I have seen. He is truly amazing and as dominant in his sport as any athlete ever. I really hope he gets the eight golds just so I can say I was able to see it.

Watching the US relay team win the other night over the trash talking French team was one of the most exciting moments I can remember. I actually threw a high five to a friend in celebration, which qualified as my first ever Olympic high five moment. I think the comeback win by Jason Lezak in the final leg made it one of the 10 best Olympic moments of all time. The image of Michael Phelps standing poolside screaming will be one of the Olympic images we’ll see forever.

Another one of my favorite things about these Olympics so far is the pictures of President Bush with Misty May-Treanor and Kerri Walsh.

That one has been the most widely posted picture and it’s great, but the one that makes me laugh the most is this one:

I just think that’s funny.

On the subject of the Olympics and photos, what in the hell was the Spanish basketball team thinking by taking this picture.

That picture actually ran as part of a full-page ad in the Spanish sports daily, Marca. The ad was supposedly wishing the team good luck in Beijing, but looks like blatant racism. Who could have possibly thought this was a good idea and why isn’t there more of an uproar? What do you think would happen if the US team did this in an ad in USA Today?

One final Olympic related note, I’m not sure what to think of this video of with Bill Plaschke of the LA Times and Kevin Pang of the Chicago Tribune eating at a Chinese restaurant that only serves penis.

There are many possible jokes there, but I don’t know what to say.

Congratulations to Padraig Harrington on his second straight major championship. It’s good to see somebody step up and claim the spot as the world’s top golfer while Tiger is out. Phil, Vijay, Sergio and the rest couldn’t do it, but Padraig has shown he’s the guy. Speaking of Sergio, I will say it again, can we please quit hearing about him as the favorite going into these majors when he can’t win one. All we know for sure about Sergio is that if he does contend at a major he’ll find a way not to win. He’s regarded as such a great ball striker, and yet he puts a ball in the water on #16 in the final round when he’s tied for the lead. Until he proves he can win a major, I don’t want to hear about Sergio as a favorite.

Finally, I went to see “Pineapple Express” over the weekend and I “high”ly recommend it(pun intended). If you like silly movies like “Knocked Up” and “Superbad” you will love this movie. I thought it was hilarious.

Have a good week, hope to see you at the vigil Friday night.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

