Sports 56 WHBlog Q

July 8, 2008

Tuesday Ramblings

Filed under: blog, sports 56 — Tags: , , , — Eli Savoie @ 10:40 pm

After taking a week off last week MTR is back strong this week with thoughts I’ve had while awaiting the season finale of “Hell’s Kitchen.”

I was off last week while recovering from my trip to Los Angeles, which was great. I had never been to LA and on the trip out there I was thinking I may never get there(I hate airline delays), but I did make it even if it was 10 hours later than expected. LA is great! The weather is amazing and Hollywood and the surrounding area is as bizarre as I expected. I had a wonderful time out there and can’t wait to get back. The only disappointment on the trip was that I never could find Hell’s kitchen and I so wanted my picture taken there.

A lot has happened since my last post including the wonderful draft night trade of the Grizzlies. I have to admit I didn’t think they’d get anything done, but kudos to Chris Wallace and gang for finding a way to get the big deal done, something Jerry West struggled with in his Memphis tenure. I really liked Mike Miller as a player and as a person off the court, so I hate to see him go, but he was an asset that had to be used to get OJ Mayo back, and I couldn’t be more excited to see Mayo in a Grizzlies uniform. To be able to add Mayo while also getting rid of Brian Cardinal’s contract and the terrible Jason Collins, made it worth parting with Miller. Speaking of Miller and Mayo, they were both on the show today and you can check out the interviews on the front page under featured audio.

With Mayo, Mike Conley and Rudy Gay, the Grizzlies have a fantastic young three headed monster that should be fun to watch for years to come. The Grizzlies aren’t going to be a playoff team next season, but they should be much more entertaining to watch. I also would like to see the Grizzlies more active in the free agent market, especially with Josh Smith out there, but they want to save the money for next year. I hope that move pays off.

The thing to remember about Mayo is that this is what he has been groomed for since about the seventh grade. He has been a star since then and all the stops along the way were just steps towards his arrival in the NBA. He should not have any trouble adjusting to the NBA life on or off the court, I think he’ll be very good. Heck, he told us today he’s gotten advice on the adjustment to the NBA from Lebron, Chris Paul, and Dwayne Wade, that’s the basketball community this kid rolls in and that bodes well for his future.

I was asked a lot over the last day about the Brewers getting CC Sabathia and whether, as a Cubs fan, I was worried. I told everyone that, while I thought it was a great move for Milwaukee, I still thought the Cubs were the better team and that they were still targeting Rich Harden as a possible trade target. Well, low and behold, the Cubs wasted no time in getting a deal done for Harden as they made the move today. In polls of hitters around the American League, Harden’s name has always come up as having some of the best stuff in the game, but he has had injury problems. If he can stay healthy, the Cubs got themselves a steal and a rotation of Carlos Zambrano, Harden, Ryan Dempster and Ted Lilly is pretty nasty come playoff time. With Alfonso Soriano returning soon, I will say again, if they stay healthy, the Cubs will win the NL Central by at least eight games. The other thing I like about Harden over Sabathia is that Harden’s contract includes a team option at $7 million for next year, Sabathia is a free agent after the season who, in all likelihood, will not be back in Milwaukee next season.

I’ve said enough about my feelings on Brett Favre in the past so I won’t get into that current saga. As far as I’m concerned it’s just more of Brett being Brett. It’s ridiculous!

Anyway, have a good week.

2 Comments »

  1. Did the Grizzlies make any effort to get Elton Brand? He would have been a perfect fit for the Grizzlies addressing their weakness inside and lack of rebounding and inside scoring. Having Brand would also have let Mayo operate with much more freedom and could have made the Grizzlies a playoff contender this year.
    Unfortunately, I believe Heisley is more concerned with cutting payroll than winning. What good is cap space if you refuse to use it?

    Comment by mark — July 9, 2008 @ 4:36 pm

  2. I think the Grizzlies looked at the price it would have taken, combined with Brand’s age, as reasons not to go after him. The team is on a three-year plan and is looking to go with younger players that can develope together and give the team a chance at being a legitimate contender in 4-5 years. Brand really wouldn’t fit that plan. Also, Brand likely would not have wanted to come here because he’s looking for a chance to win. He looked at the Sixers, being in the Eastern Conference, as a place he could accomplish that.

    Comment by Eli Savoie — July 16, 2008 @ 2:05 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

