Sports 56 WHBlog Q

June 24, 2008

Tuesday Ramblings

Filed under: blog, sports 56 — Eli Savoie @ 7:10 pm

Thoughts I’ve had while counting down the minutes till the first episode of “Celebrity Family Feud.”

The NBA Draft is just a couple days away and unlike the last couple of years, I really don’t have a very good idea of what the Grizzlies are going to do. If I had to make a prediction right now I’d say they stay at #5 and take Kevin Love, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they trade up or down or if they stay at #5 and take someone other than Love. I am glad to see they are giving more consideration to Eric Gordon. I think Gordon will be the best of the group of shooting guards at the top of this draft.

If Miami holds on to the second pick in the draft and takes Michael Beasley, you’d have to believe it would make Shawn Marion very available. He’s 30-years-old and only has one year left on his contract, but if the Grizzlies think they have any chance at resigning him, I think they have to do whatever they can to get him.I think he has at least five or six good years left and he, Rudy Gay, and Michael Conley would make a nice three-headed monster. It would probably take Mike Miller and Kyle Lowry, but I think you might also be able to include Brian Cardinal in the deal which would be great. The Grizzlies could then go after Monta Ellis or Ben Gordon to play the two and have a nice little lineup. The problem with this though, is the that it probably would be tough to resign Marion so that would probably have to be pretty much done before the deal is made.

The quote of the week comes from draft hopeful Marreese Speights from Florida. Speights apparently was a bit surprised upon arrival in Salt Lake City. “Oh, when I came here (Saturday), I expected way different than this,” he said. “This is kind of like, city. I expected, like, cows and stuff.”

Then Speights looked up and was in for another shock. “I seen that snow on top of the mountains,” the 20-year-old Floridian said. “That was crazy.”

Seriously? Can a college student really be that clueless?

Watching the Cubs sweep the White Sox is one of my great pleasures in life. The Cubs are simply unbelievable at home right now, they haven’t lost at Wrigley Field since May 17. Have I mentioned before that I’m heading to Wrigley in August? I cannot wait to get back to the greatest sports stadium in the world.

While watching the Cubs finish the sweep of the Sox on Sunday night, Joe Morgan, doing the broadcast on ESPN, talked about the basket om the outfield wall at Wrigley and how it was called Banks’ Alley because of how many home runs Ernie Banks used to hit into it. Well apparently, Joe is full of sh%# and had no idea what he was talking about. I didn’t think anything of it when he brought it up, but other Cub fans have done the research to show how dumb the comments were. The funny thing is, it doesn’t really offend me that much as a Cubs fan because who really cares, but as a broadcaster it makes me mad that he would just spout off stupid stories that are completely made up.

Have you noticed the current crop of movies in theaters? “The Incredible Hulk,” “The Love Guru,” “Don’t Mess With the Zohan,” “Kong Fu Panda,” “Hancock,” etc. What has happened to the movie industry? Have you seen the trailers for these movies? They are ridiculous! At least there’s still television. What’s that? There are now shows called “The Baby Borrowers,” “Celebrity Circus,” and “Wipeout”? What the hell is going on?

Speaking of Hollywood, I’ll be making my first visit to LA this weekend. I’m headed out there to visit friends for a few days. I’m not sure what to expect out of LA, but I am looking forward to seeing it for the first time.

I’ve never felt like I have had to battle any sort of real addiction and I am thankful for that, but having had my TiVo go out last week, I now realize how dependent I was on it. If my new receiver doesn’t get here soon, I may have to go to rehab. Detox is hard on a man.

Anyway, have a great rest of the week and weekend, I’m off to LA.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

