Sports 56 WHBlog Q

June 3, 2008

Tuesday Ramblings

Filed under: blog, sports 56 — Tags: , , , , — Eli Savoie @ 10:01 pm

Thoughts I’ve had while trying to figure out why Mike Tramel is so bitter.

I really don’t get the fascination with the whole MMA thing. I didn’t watch the Saturday Night Fights on CBS, but after hearing some things about them I decided to look on line for some highlights and what I saw was a man’s ear blowing up like what Peter Edmiston described as a blood-filled pinata. It was disgusting! The whole thing really doesn’t make sense to me, but then, I’ve never been a big boxing guy either. Call me crazy, but I just don’t get a big thrill out of watching people beat the crap out of each other. While I’m not a fan of MMA, I also don’t agree with Bryan Burwell of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, who seems to think it will ruin civilization.

I never quite understand when I hear people say somwthing should not be on TV. What? It’s 2008 people, everyone has like 200 channels, just watch something else. I don’t want to watch MMA fighting, but others do, so what? I have a remote and numerous other channels, I have no problem finding something to watch.

I’m still undecided on what direction I’d like the Grizzlies to go in the draft. One guy that I do like a lot though is Eric Gordon. A lot of people are not high on him, but I still think he is going to be very good. I’d rather have him than Jerryd Bayless, but I think I would take O.J. Mayo over him. I know I don’t want Kevin Love and as for the other big guys, I wouldn’t mind Brooke Lopez and I’m starting to like DeAndre Jordan more and more if the Grizzlies could trade down and get him around #10.

I love this week in Memphis because the Stanford St. Jude Championship takes place at TPC Southwind. I love going to PGA Tour events. As a weekend golfer myself, I am amazed at how easy the pros make the game look. One of the greatest things about a tour event is watching the guys on the driving range. It’s just fun to see some of the drills they do and watch how they can shape the ball time after time. When the promos say “These Guys are Good,” they are right on.

The Lakers seem to have become the popular pick in the NBA Finals, but I’m going with the Celtics in seven. There you go Fish, if you won’t include my picks in “Sunday on the Couch,” I’ll just put them here.

As a Cubs fan, its tough to control the excitement these days, but I know I have to because there is a lot of season left. There just haven’t been many times in my life that they have looked this good. They are just playing winning baseball in so many ways. The starting pitching has been good, the bullpen has been very good and the offense continues to hit-and take walks-which is something they’ve never done before. They’ve been fun to watch and I just hope it continues. I can’t wait to go to Wrigley in August.

Had a great time at Italian Fest on Saturday. Like BBQ Fest, Italian Fest never disappoints.

1 Comment »

  1. I wonder the same thing about half the talk-show host on this station,why the bitterness towards the Tigers and Cal?

    Comment by MIKE TRAMEL — June 4, 2008 @ 11:41 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

