Sports 56 WHBlog Q

May 20, 2008

Tuesday Ramblings

Filed under: Uncategorized — Eli Savoie @ 3:02 pm

After last week’s time off for BBQ Fest I am back and ready to go. I know Rob Fischer talked a lot about the festival in his Sunday on the Couch segment, so I won’t get into it. If you want to see the story of my BBQ Fest week, you can go to elisavoie.com.

We held a draft lottery on the show today and the Grizzlies got the 5th pick. We do it the same way the official lottery is held. We did one a couple weeks ago too, that one had the Grizzlies getting the second pick. Today’s top 3 were 1. Seattle 2. Milwaukee 3. Miami, the previous lottery went 1. New York 2. Memphis 3. Charlotte.

While I’m on the lottery, it never ceases to amaze me how many people, including many sports talk show hosts in this city, have no clue how the draft lottery works, yet talk about it like they know it all, and continue to say the NBA rigs it.

I watched the Academy of Country Music Awards Sunday night and I was reminded why I like country music awards shows so much, the awards are kind of secondary to the performances and the acceptance speeches last about 30 seconds. Watch any country music awards show and at least 80% of the show will be live performances. Speaking of the live performances, Taylor Swift’s performance was crazy. She had a layer of clothes torn off of her and ended up in a rainstorm, all on stage! Here it is if you didn’t see it.

I have no idea what is happening to our youth in this country, but these stories are disturbing. First, a 12-year-old drunk driver in Arkansas. Once you’ve read that one, you can read this one, it may explain where the drunk kid was headed to find that girl from the rodeo. Oh, and then there’s the seven-year-old kid in Florida who decided to take grandma’s car for a joy ride. That story is below in video form.

Tell me again why parents aren’t allowed to spank their kids anymore? I know kids in my day were spanked, and I don’t remember these types of things happening back then.

My Cubs are playing extremely well these days, but I still think they need some tinkering to end the 100 year championship drought. I think they are a starting pitcher and a leadoff hitter from being the best team in the game. I just am not a fan of Alfonso Soriano batting leadoff. When he gets hot like he did this last week he is amazing, but I’d still rather see him doing that in either the three or five spot in the order so that my man Fukudome could move to the two hole where he belongs. I’m heading up to Wrigley to see the Cubs in August, I can’t wait. It’s been a couple years since I’ve been there which is just too long.

I really would have liked to see New Orleans beat San Antonio in game seven last night. I have all the respect in the world for San Antonio, but I’m tired of watching them play their boring, grind-it-out style. I’m not saying they should change, that would be stupid, I just wish someone that plays a more entertaining style would figure out how to beat them. If the Spurs make the finals against either of the teams in the east, every game will be the same ugly style of basketball that leads to 74-70 games. UGH!

It’s too bad the Big Brown doesn’t have any great horses running against him, I’d like to see how good he could be if he was challenged. We will see history at the Belmont.

The big American Idol finale is tonight, but I’m not real excited. David Archuleta will win and David Cook will go on to have a much better career. Cook is the Daughtry of this year.

Good luck to the Grizzlies tonight!

I’ll talk to you all later.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

