Sports 56 WHBlog Q

April 22, 2008

Tuesday Ramblings

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , — Eli Savoie @ 10:45 pm

So I promised our producer and resident hockey fan Tyler McLellan that I would watch the NHL Playoffs if, and only if, a game 7 went to overtime. Well, low and behold it happened tonight between Philadelphia and Washington and yes, Tyler, after I finally found the VS. channel, I watched. I am not a hockey fan, but I can appreciate what goes into a game 7 overtime. The fact that the next goal scored decides whose season continues and whose comes to an end is amazing. The idea of sudden death in a win or go home game is exciting no matter what sport you’re watching. Well, except maybe soccer. Philadelphia won by the way.

Now, some TV thoughts for the week.

I’m so glad that the Hollywood writers’ strike is over. It’s good to have new shows on once again. My top 5 non-reality shows are as follows:
1. The Office
2. Boston Legal
3. Entourage
4. How I Met Your Mother
5. Dirt

Should I feel bad about myself if I Tivo “The Rock of Love with Brett Michaels” and “The Hills” every week?

I have never liked a show I’ve hated more than “The Hills,” if you know what I’m saying.

David Archuleta is a lock to win “American Idol.” If he went on stage and just smiled and stared into the camera, he would get enough votes to advance. At least he is a very good singer and it’s not just his popularity with teenage girls that is going to get him through.

It looks like the Jimmy Smits show “Cane” on CBS is probably done. That’s disappointing because it was a great show. Not sure why people didn’t watch it.

Greg Gaston disagrees, but I think it’s easier to win $1 million on “Deal or No Deal” than it is on “Who Wants to be a Millionaire.” Although it’s extremely difficult on both.

Speaking of “Deal or No Deal,” it is the perfect show to illustrate the beauty of Tivo. When you fast forward through all the commercials and other B.S. from Howie Mandel, you can watch a one-hour episode in about 20 minutes and you won’t miss any of the important stuff.

Finally, on another sports related note, Marty Brennaman thinks Cubs fans are obnoxious. Well, do obnoxious fans almost choke to death during a hot dog eating contest in the bleachers?(see below) Do obnoxious fans offend people with offensive T-Shirts supposed to honor their new Japanese right fielder? I think not! Take that Brennaman and Go Cubs Go! Fukudomania is sweeping the country!

1 Comment »

  1. Entourage, cant wait for new episodes in June !!!

    Comment by Jarrod — April 28, 2008 @ 1:23 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

